Progressive Christianity, Traditional Setting and Service, Social Action, The Arts and Music
only search Plymouth Website

1900 NICOLLET AVE. at FRANKLIN
MINNEAPOLIS 55403
612-871-7400

Contact Us

Associated Links


Quick Links


Calendar & Events


Visiting & Membership


Caring & Support


Learning & Involvement


Giving & Pledging


About Plymouth


Sermons & Library

Learning & Involvement

Ways to Connect—Small Groups

Small groups offer members opportunities to know people and join together for fun or service. For information about small groups, contact the church office. Following are some of our small groups that are welcoming new members. (Also see Social Action Working Groups.)

Adventurers
Mary Welfling: 651/699-9344, mwelfling@aol.com
A fellowship group that strives to create a smaller, more personal family within the larger Plymouth community.

Contemporary Art Forum

Ann & Jack Cole: 763/546-7483, jwcole1536@aol.com
A learning group that examines and discusses art, artists and the creative process in a stimulating environment; meets four times a year at Walker Art Center.

Curiosity Club
Lois Larson: 612/929-0644, loisplarson@msn.com
A learning fellowship group that meets to experience and explore new things.

Dining Out Club
Diane Larson: 651/645-7252, dianemlarson@hotmail.com
A fellowship group that gathers monthly on Sunday evenings to enjoy a meal at a Twin Cities restaurant and share each other’s company.

First Friday Circle
Jan Mattox: 612/866-4442, janmattox@earthlink.net
One of the long-standing fellowship groups for women.

Gallery Committee
Sonia Cairns (612/377-2108, scairns@mosscairns.com) and Carolyn Brunelle (763/377-0712, cjbrunelle@comcast.net)
A working group responsible for selection and installation of art in the Howard Conn Fine Arts Gallery at Plymouth; meets six to eight times a year or as needed.

Higher Power Potluck Group

Nancy Peterson: nancy.peterson08@gmail.com (preferred) or 952/828-9684.
A support/growth group for Plymouthites who are in recovery from any addiction and their partners/spouses; meets three to four times a year at different homes.

Juvenescence
Jessica Allen, jessica.m.allen.47@gmail.com
Jeremy Strief, jstrief@gmail.com
A fellowship group for "younger-than-average" Plymouth members and friends; meets the second Sunday of the month during the program year for brunch, as well as occasional other meetings for dinner, games and service projects.

Knit a Bit
Emily Venell: 612/977-1281, emilyv@plymouth.org
Katie Jensen: 612/823-4637, kenkatie@gmail.com
This working group meets weekly for knitting fellowship. Prayer shawls and other knitting projects welcome.

Memorial Service Committee
Alan Onberg: 651/699-4661;
Katherine Ferrand: 612/823-0190, kfcact@aol.com;
Lois Larson: 612/929-0644, loisplarson@msn.com
A working group that assists with memorial services at Plymouth.

One More Chair
Jean Grams: 651/788-0559, jean.grams@comcast.net
There's always room for more people in this group. Fun gatherings, a chance to meet new people and build new friendships.

Plymouth Clergy Group
Parker Trostel: 612/926-7746, ptrostel@comcast.net
This learning/fellowship group is designed for members and friends of Plymouth who are ordained clergy to gather for fellowship, study and lunch.

Plymouth Docents
Susan Sophocleus: sophocleus@yahoo.com
This working group coordinates and leads tours of the Plymouth campus after the Sunday 10:30 a.m. worship service.

Plymouth Film Club
Richard Jewell and Ann Ludlow: 612/870-7024, www.richard.jewell.net/contact.htm
A fellowship group that meets to watch movies together; meets five to seven times a year on select Sundays after worship. Films are chosen by speakers who then lead discussions after the films. Notices of upcoming screenings appear in the Flame, bulletin and on the website.

Plymouth Geezer Golfing Assn. (PGGA)
Jim Swanson: 612/719-6063, jswanson@earthlink.net.
A group that meets for golfing on Monday mornings.

Plymouth Keyboard Music Club
Bill Davini: 612/722-2728, bdavini@yahoo.com
A learning group that meets to promote and encourage keyboard musicianship through performance, education and social connection; meets in six-week intervals throughout the year.

Prayer Chain
Joan Wicklund: 952/925-9434, joanwic09@gmail.com
A virtual group that spiritually supports Plymouth members in times of need and transition, through prayer.

Red Hat Society
Joan Wicklund: 952/925-9434, joanwic09@gmail.com
A fellowship group of women based on the national Red Hat Society program. They meet regularly for lunch at various restaurants. Members over 55 wear the red hat and purple clothes. Those under 55 wear lilac and pink.

Voyagers
Emily Venell: 612/977-1281, emilyv@plymouth.org
A fellowship group for families with older children (or recent empty nesters) that gathers socially to participate in family-oriented outings, service projects and building family community; meets monthly on the third Sunday.

Young Adult Group
Shannon Kearns, shannonk@plymouth.org, 612/977-1288
Gatherings for Plymouth members and regular visitors ages 18 to 30ish.

At a glance...

Adventurers
Contemporary Art Forum
Curiosity Club
Dining Out Club
First Friday Circle
Gallery Committee
Higher Power Potluck
Juvenescence
Knit a Bit
Memorial Service Committee
One More Chair
Plymouth Clergy

Plymouth Docents
Plymouth Film Club
Plymouth Geezer Golfing Assn. (PGGA)
Plymouth Keyboard Music Club
Prayer Chain
Red Hat Society
Voyagers
Young Adult Group

Home | Calendar & Events | Visiting & Membership | Caring & Support | Learning & Involvement | Giving

About Plymouth | Sermons & Library | Contact Plymouth | Boards | Council | Site Map | Photo Credits | Webmaster

Plymouth Congregational Church • 1900 Nicollet Avenue • Minneapolis MN 55403-3789 • 612/871-7400

© 2014 Plymouth Congregational Church, Minneapolis